WoW Midnight: What a Returning Player Needs to Know
Retail World of Warcraft is Midnight now, with a level cap of 90, free housing and a catch-up experience for lapsed players. Here is what Blizzard's own pages say about access, the subscription and what to do on your first login, and what they leave out.

Retail World of Warcraft is not the game you left if you quit before this March, and Blizzard now sells it next to two other ways to play. Our WoW: Forever guide covers the new reimagined original. This one is for the other question: you want modern WoW, you have been gone a while, and you need to know what to buy and what you will see. The facts below are drawn from Blizzard's own pages, and where they are silent this guide says so.

Official header art from Blizzard's Midnight launch post.
Where retail WoW stands
Blizzard's Welcome Back Weekend post states that Midnight launched on March 2, 2026, at 3 pm PST globally. Its "Now Live" post calls Midnight the next chapter of the Worldsoul Saga, with Xal'atath, the Harbinger, as the main threat, and gives the level cap as 90. Midnight Season 1 began March 17, per the same post.
Blizzard's launch post lists these as the headline content:
- Zones. Blizzard lists Eversong Woods, Zul'Aman, Harandar and Voidstorm. You start in Eversong Woods, and the post says there are three paths you can tackle in any order, one of them Arator's Journey, a questline. Silvermoon City is a rebuilt hub for both factions, with about a third of it Horde-only.
- Housing. You can build and decorate a home, join Neighborhoods and take on Endeavors.
- Prey. A Midnight system that comes in Normal, Hard and Nightmare difficulties; the Journeys tab tracks its progress.
- Devourer. A third Demon Hunter specialization that uses Void power instead of Fel.
Blizzard's Midnight product page adds the dungeon and raid count: 8 dungeons, 3 raids with 9 bosses and 11 Delves.
What you need to play
Per the Midnight product page, the requirements are World of Warcraft, an internet connection, a Battle.net account with the Battle.net desktop app, and a World of Warcraft subscription or Game Time. Midnight is sold separately from the subscription. The page also says buying it does not include future expansions.
The shop lists Heroic and Epic editions. The only edition contents the page spelled out when I read it were the Epic Edition's: housing decor, the Voidlight Surger flying mount, an Enhanced Level 80 Character Boost, transmog sets, Dragonhawk mounts, pets, up to 2,000 Trader's Tender (granted once per Battle.net account and region) and 30 days of game time. The page lists no prices and the Heroic Edition's contents were not shown. I am leaving prices out on purpose, because they vary by region and change. Read the Battle.net Shop before buying.
One thing that has ended: Blizzard's Welcome Back Weekend, January 29 to February 1, let lapsed accounts play without a subscription, and Blizzard states the no-subscription return option ended February 2 at 10:00 am PDT. If you are reading this in November, you need a subscription or Game Time.
What the subscription covers
Blizzard's October 15 post on year-long subscriptions and its homepage set out what one subscription gets you:
| Product | Covered by the subscription? |
|---|---|
| Modern World of Warcraft (currently Midnight) | Yes; Blizzard's Midnight page lists the expansion purchase as a requirement alongside the subscription |
| WoW: Forever (launched November 4) | Yes |
| WoW Classic progression (currently Mists of Pandaria Classic) | Yes |
The same post says the 6-month and 12-month special offers come with bonus items. For the 12-month offer it names the Ashen Dreadglider Skyriding mount and Giant Grrloc ground mount for modern WoW, plus Forever and Classic items. Bonuses arrive by October 31, 2026 and must be redeemed by April 30, 2027. It does not state a price for either offer.
Your first login
Blizzard's returning player guide (posted February 25, before Midnight launched) describes what you will be offered. At login you choose between resuming where you left off or starting the Catch Up Experience, which the guide recommends. It starts in the Arathi Highlands, where you help Thrall and Jaina, hides your existing quests while it runs, and ends with gear appropriate to your level and suggested content for that level. You can reach it later from the Tutorials tab in the Adventure Guide (Shift+J).
If you want the story first, the guide describes a The War Within Recap, an accelerated playthrough of that expansion from the Isle of Dorn to K'aresh that takes a few hours.
The character selection screen is now called the Campsite and shows all characters on your Battle.net account. From it you can set favorites, open the Warband Collection and apply Character Services.
What changed while you were away
The returning player guide is the most complete list. Items you are likely to notice:
- Warbands. Account-wide progression shared across factions, including renown, the Warband bank and achievements. Appearances can be learned and shared across classes and gear types where the character can equip them.
- Single-Button Assistant and Assisted Highlight. The assistant is a spell you put on your Action Bar that cycles through prioritized abilities and adds a small global cooldown increase between casts. Assisted Highlight glows on the next recommended damage ability and does not cover healing or defensive spells.
- Skyriding. Formerly Dragonriding. The guide says Vigor is removed and replaced with six shared charges for Surge Forward and Skyward Ascent, and that Steady Flight is included.
- Transmog. You can save full outfits across characters. Unlocking outfit slots costs gold, switching between saved outfits is free, and earlier transmogs and legacy outfits were converted into Custom Sets.
- Delves. Short repeatable instances you can run solo or with up to four friends plus an NPC companion.
- Journeys. A new Adventure Guide tab arriving with Midnight that tracks Renown, Delves and Prey across Midnight and earlier expansions, with a shortcut to the Great Vault.
- Housing. The guide says everyone gets a home at no cost, with no lottery and no upkeep, shareable across your Warband, and you can visit friends on the opposing faction.
- Story Mode. Lets you face raid storylines without hard mechanics, solo or with up to four friends. It covers only Dragonflight and The War Within raids, and requires max level plus the full story campaigns of Dragonflight and Khaz Algar.
Note the date: that guide was written before launch, so its "arriving with Midnight" lines describe features that Blizzard's later "Now Live" post lists as shipped. I did not check each one in game.
Talebound and what is not live
Blizzard also ran a Talebound demo on the Player Test Realm from October 30 to November 1, with no subscription required. Its post lists three classes (Slayer, Inquisitor and Witch), three tales (Darkhaven, Greenthistle Wood and Greywake's Expedition) and Normal, Veteran and Heroic difficulty for each.

Official header art from Blizzard's Talebound demo post.
The demo window has closed, and the post does not state a live release date or whether anything carries over. Do not plan around Talebound being available on live servers.
What Blizzard's pages do not say
- Prices. None of the Blizzard pages I could open gave a figure for the subscription, Midnight or its editions. Check the shop.
- Whether you need earlier expansions. The Midnight page does not say whether earlier expansions are included. It mentions Dragonflight only in the context of the streamlined leveling experience.
- Support article details. Blizzard's Game Time support article asks you to sign in, so I could not read it. Check it for payment-method and regional details.
- A Talebound date. Not stated.
If the original-game version appeals more, read our WoW: Forever guide, since the same subscription covers it.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the current World of Warcraft expansion?
Do I need a subscription to play WoW Midnight?
Does the WoW subscription include WoW: Forever and Classic?
What should a returning WoW player do on first login?
Is WoW housing free?
Is the WoW Talebound demo still available?
Keep Reading
- Blizzard — World of Warcraft: Midnight (editions, requirements, zones, dungeon and raid counts)
- Blizzard News — World of Warcraft: Midnight Now Live (level cap 90, zones, housing, Prey, Devourer, Season 1 start)
- Blizzard — Make Your Stand During Welcome Back Weekend (Midnight launch date, no-subscription return window ending February 2)
- Blizzard — Welcome Home: A Returning Player's Guide (Catch Up Experience, Warbands, transmog, Delves, Journeys, housing)
- Blizzard — Unlock a Year of World of Warcraft and Get Bonus Treasures (what the subscription covers, 12-month bonuses)
- Blizzard — WoW: Midnight's Talebound Demo is Now Live (PTR demo, October 30 to November 1, no subscription)
Related Guides

WoW: Forever: What It Is, What It Costs, How to Play
World of Warcraft: Forever is not a patch, not an expansion and not a Classic server. Blizzard describes it as a permanent home for a reimagined version of the original game, alongside modern WoW and Classic. Here is what its own pages say about access, cost, platforms and what is still unanswered.

WoW: Forever Hotfixes Explained: Nov 5-6 Changes
Three days after World of Warcraft: Forever launched, Blizzard posted its first hotfix list for it. Here is what actually changed for players, what was only a tooltip correction, and what the separate Midnight hotfix list did to The Venomous Abyss.